St Peter's College - Cranbourne facebook

About Our College

Built on the confidence of a community that is rapidly growing and changing, St. Peter's College treasures its proud history within the Cranbourne region.

We commit ourselves to embracing the opportunities which enable the appropriate expansion of resources that meet the needs of our 21st Century Community.


St. Peter’s College began in 1987 as the Cranbourne Campus of St. Francis Xavier, Beaconsfield with 49 students in Year 7. A year level was added in each of the two subsequent years, with Year 10 first being offered in 1992. Fr. James McGuigan, who was Parish Priest of St. Agatha’s since 1980, was a driving force behind the establishment and development of the Campus. An Interim Board of Management was formed which determined that the campus would become independent from the beginning of 1994, and be known as St. Peter’s College. Mr. Terry Feely was appointed as the Principal and Mr John Clancy became the first Chairperson of the College Board.

In 1994 St Peter’s College commenced as a Year 7 to 10 Campus with 280 students. A rapid phase of growth and development commenced with the VCE being introduced and the first Year 12 group graduating in 1996. The Curriculum diversified to a great degree with particular expansion in areas such as Technology, Sciences, Visual Arts and Languages Other than English.

The person and story of St. Peter greatly contributed to a distinct character and ethos, expressed in symbol, art work and the liturgical life of the College. A reputation for excellence in the Performing Arts was quickly achieved, and in 1998 the College was recognised in the Federal Parliament for its work towards Aboriginal Reconciliation. By that year the student enrolment had grown to 624, with 41 teaching staff, and 11 non- teaching staff. This growth was supported by continued curricular expansion and a succession of new buildings: the Library (1995 and further extended in 2006), the Breen Building (1998), the Clancy Building (2000), Multi-Purpose Hall (2000) the Tarraville Building (2002), the Florence Williams Building (2003) and the Benedict XVI Building (2008). In February 2003 in its tenth year, the College received, relocated and began to refurbish the Chapel of St. Peter’s from Tooradin. This magnificent bequest, including the contents, was blessed and re-dedicated by Fr. Andrew Wise the Parish Priest of St. Agatha’s. In 2000 Mrs. Marleen Ling succeeded Mr John Clancy as Chairperson of the College Board. In May of 2004, Mrs. Julie Kelly became the Chairperson. Mr. Robert Carboon, was elected in 2006 Board Chairperson. In April of 2009, Founding Principal Mr Terry Feely resigned. Mr. Tim Hogan who took over as Acting Principal was appointed to the position in June of that year.

In 2009 we saw the purchase of land in East Cranbourne for a future campus. The East Campus of St Peter’s College was officially opened by Bishop Christopher Prowse and Federal MP Anthony Byrne on February 24th, 2012 with the Stage 1 buildings named in honour of Bishop Lyons, the First Bishop of the Sale Diocese, and Bishop Corbett who oversaw the development of the Parish of St Agatha’s Cranbourne. In 2011 the Library at the West Campus was renamed the Terry Feely Learning Centre in honour of the Foundation Principal who passed away in May 2011. In June of 2012, as part of the St Peter’s Day Celebration, the Sculpture of St. Peter, produced by artist Bart Sanicolo, was blessed by Bishop Prowse at the West Campus. In 2013 we saw the opening of the Stage 2 Graham Building at the East Campus, named in honour of Sr. Graham, Foundation Principal of St Agatha’s Primary. In 2014/15 we saw the construction of Stage 3A at the East Campus (Bishop Coffey Centre for Creativity) with a Trade Skills Centre being constructed at the West Campus. 

Current Chairman, Mr Ken Barnes, was elected in 2016. Early 2016 the East Campus Administration building was completed with the installation of the Statue of St Peter, commissioned by artist Jenny Steiner and blessed by Bishop Patrick O’Regan.

2017 will see the completetion of the classroom building phase at the East Campus, with the second Stage of the Coffey Centre of Creativity building operational, and the building of a Year 9 Curriculum specific space. Mr Chris Black was appointed to the role of Acting Principal in January and Principal as of July 2017.

The present enrolment, as at February 2018, stands at 1,607. East Campus has grown to 745 students, with 862 students at the West Campus.